While waiting on the porch…

I have been waiting on the porch, for such a long time.
What have I been doing while I’ve waited?
I have been very busy.

1. I checked the driveway, yes, free from poison oak and stinging nettles
2. I checked the porch foundation, yes, secure and constant.
3. I swept down cobwebs of discouragement,regret and disappointment.
4. I washed the window to keep a clear vision.
5. I kept the steps de-iced with warmth, forgiveness and compassion.
6. I sat on the porch chair and prayed.
7. I washed the steps with tears.
8. I was watchful, even when busy, glancing out the window.
9. I paused often, listening for a knock.
10. As I looked down the road, I looked up.

The best part of waiting on the porch was opening the door and saying,

“Come in! I’m glad you’re home!”

Published in: Uncategorized on July 17, 2009 at 12:48 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thoughtsofgrace.wordpress.com/2009/07/17/while-waiting-on-the-porch/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

