Through Four Year Old Eyes

These are the earliest two memories I have. These are mine, I don’t remember them from a picture because there were no pictures of these events.I don’t know which one happened first. I was 4 years old. We lived at Morro Bay in a trailer park, my dad worked on the steam plant as an iron worker. At least three uncles worked there also, Uncle Billy Ripley, Uncle Cecil Ripley, and Uncle Richard Topper (we all lived at the same trailer park).
I started kindergarten in Morro Bay. My mom and I went to the school to meet the teacher and see my new classroom. The teacher showed me around the room pointing out all the toys. She told me I could play with ‘the’ doll. The doll was a walking doll and about 3 ft high. I was excited! But I never got to play with the doll.  Someone always got to her first. Looking back I realize I was a very timid and careful child,  but I always have felt that the teacher lied to me.

Next memory: All the uncles, my dad, and their friends went deep sea fishing. When they got back they had gunney sacks full of fish. One friend, named Shorty asked me if I wanted some M & M’s. I said yes. He opened his hand and it was full of fish eyes.

Wonder why I have trouble trusting sometimes?

Published in: on May 19, 2010 at 6:08 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thoughtsofgrace.wordpress.com/2010/05/19/through-four-year-old-eyes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

