Today’s thought — Bless my Enemies

It’s Lilac time at Cozy Acres.

Good Morning,

This morning checking my email; I opened Ann Voskamp’s  Holy Experience post on how to love your enemies. I skimmed through most of it but had to stop and reread this portion:

“I knit and pray my own wandering version through of an old prayer for old pain:

Bless my enemies, O Lord. Even I bless them and do not curse them.
Enemies have driven me into your embrace more than friends have.
Enemies have loosed me from earth more than friends have…
Enemies have made me a hunted animal, finding safer shelter than an unhunted animal does.

I found safest sanctuary in You…may too my enemies-made-grace.
I found greatest grace in You… may my enemies-made-grace find Your generous grace alive and radical in me.
I found fullest forgiveness in You… may my enemies-made-grace find faith and freedom in You and Your forgiveness working surprising ways in me.

The longer I walk with you, Lord, I find I have no enemies: only your gift of chisels etching me deep.

Bless my enemies, O Lord. Even I bless them and do not curse them.”

I replaced the word ‘enemies’ with trials, hard places, sickness, mind battles and realized a fresh that  bad things do have a purpose.

And that sometimes my enemy is me…………

Luke 6:27 But I say unto you which hear, Love your enemies, do good to them which hate you,

Luke 6:36 So be merciful (sympathetic, tender, responsive, and compassionate) even as your Father is [all these]. Amplied Bible

If you want to read her post, it’s here: http://www.aholyexperience.com/2012/04/how-to-love-your-enemies

Trust God for your day, ….Today
With my prayers; desiring yours, Leslie

Published in: on April 21, 2012 at 11:06 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thoughtsofgrace.wordpress.com/2012/04/21/todays-thought-bless-my-enemies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

