Ten on Tuesday – What’s going on in May?

ToT-Button

On Tuesday’s Carole hosts Ten on Tuesdays’.
She chooses a topic – we list ten items.

10 Things You’re Looking Forward to in May.

1. the Farmer’s birthday is May 1. 72 years ago the Farmer’s father wanted take Mama to the mountains for their anniversary. Mama said “She’s rather go to the hospital.” She got her way that year.

2. May 3, I’m joining Erica at Fiddle Knits in a MKAL(Mystery Knit-a-long), Minerva. I am trying to find 1200 yards of variegated fingering (sock) weight yarn that shouts, Hey I want to be a shawl! I’ve checked the stash shed, not enough yardage in one color yarn.

By May 3rd, I plan on
2. Finish knitting Miss Shirley’s shawl
3. Finish knitting Gratitude Seashore
4. Finish sewing the binding on Miss Deanna’s quilt

5. The second or third Friday night in May, We begin hosting “Barbeque, Volleyball, and Fellowship at Cozy Acres.”
This pot luck/fun and games get together continues through the summer until some time in September. It is held on the church grounds, church members, family and friends are all invited.

6. The third Saturday of the month is “Family Night at the Crain’s” the Farmer and I, our five children, their spouses and children, and guests gather for food, laughter, birthday and anniversary celebrations, games, dessert. This month we meet at our youngest son’s home, menu is yet to be decided.

7. I’ll be going to Redding to help with the Farmer’s mother, she had her 100th birthday in January, while the Farmer’s sister and brother-in-law take a vacation to see family in Southern Ca.
DSC_0121 elmer & mom2013
8.  Since I’ll be in Redding for most of Mother’s day, Our family’s get-together will be the Sunday evening before Mother’s Day.

9.  I am going to volunteer to drive a group of young people to Phoenix, AZ to a Young People’s Retreat over Memorial Day weekend.

10. I’m also having breakfast with daughter-in-law one morning and breakfast/lunch? with Miss Shirley, dates to be decided. I’ll babysit two days a week for 3 little girls at their home.

I didn’t realize how busy May was going to be.
I first thought I’d have trouble finding 10 things to list.
Looks like May is going to be a good month.

Published in: on April 30, 2013 at 10:06 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thoughts-of-grace.com/2013/04/30/ten-on-tuesday-whats-going-on-in-may/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I thought the same thing about whether I’d have 10 Things in May! Turns out, that’s no problem at all. Have a great month!!

    • Life is always so busy, glad for deck time with coffee and knitting.

  2. it does sound busy but filled with family and fun so great busy. 100! wow! and happy birthday to your farmer

    • Thanks, the busyness of our family is so special to me.

  3. Sounds like you have a lot of fun stuff happening next month. Enjoy it all! My grandpa just turned 100 this year too. I love hearing about 100 year old stories. Amazing!!

    • It is amazing all the changes in the past 100 years!

  4. I love that you meet every month with your entire family! How fun.

    • Even though we saw each other at work and church, we felt that we had to set aside a time to be together as a family. Now it’s a tradition going on 16-17 years.


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.