Ten on Tuesday – Cleaning?

ToT-Button

On Tuesday’s Carole hosts ‘Ten on Tuesdays’.
She chooses a topic – we list ten items.

10 Favorite Housekeeping Shortcuts.

I must admit, I’ve never thought of myself as a good housekeeper,
although our home has never been condemned.
We have downsized from 2600 sqft, 4 bedroom, 2 1.2 bath etc, etc,
to a 27 ft Komfort with living room slide out,
my housekeeping is under construction to say the least.
Most of my hints I no longer use, i.e. no dishwasher,
they worked well once upon a time.

1.   Have my stuff organized, cupboards, drawers, closets.
I love Sidetracked Home Executives;
I didn’t follow the cleaning plan,
but for me the organization ideas were the best.

2.   Empty the dishwasher – having the dishwasher empty
and ready cuts down on much frustration.

3.   Don’t use the excuse “I’ll get around to it”
Wipe it up, pick it up, put it a way NOW!

4.   If the children write in the dust,
don’t let them add the date.

5.   Pick up the living/family room before going to bed.

6. Make my bed, close drawers and closet doors,
pick up laundry before leaving the bedroom.
It is amazing how this helps the room’s appearance.
Since we’ve retired, the last one our makes the bed.
.dec 3 buster on bed
Today Buster was the last one on the bed.
I let sleeping cats lie.

7. Have only one pile it place;
because we understand
that every flat spot is a potential ‘pile it’ place.

8. In the winter, I loved having enough coals
in the fireplace to make it easy to toss on a log and kindling
and a fire was burning to take away the chill
and add cheerfulness to the start of my day.

9. Pay attention to the outside entry of my home,
is it welcoming ?
or do the spider webs remind me of Halloween?

10. Lastly, check the car. Take the trash out with you.

I didn’t think I could come up with 10 hints,
after 46 years of homemaking has taught me a little.

Carole has many friends with more hints, Here.

Published in: on December 3, 2013 at 6:56 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thoughts-of-grace.com/2013/12/03/ten-on-tuesday-cleaning/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love #4!

    • Long time motto with 5 kids!

  2. #6 gave me a giggle but number 7 is quite profound!!!
    I am going to implement it immediately.

    • It’s great to be able to use cats as an excuse to not do housework….guess what happens if they sleep on my lap……..nothing!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.