Five Minute Friday – Surrender

Many new and experienced writers,
mostly women, join this write-a-long.
If you want to read what others have written
or join in the fun, click here

Surrendering is to
cease resistance and submit to authority.

GO!

Confession time.

This week I checked our bank account
and realized we were going to be short.
I won’t go into the details
but the short fall was because of decisions
I made over the past couple of months.

We are retired and are on a fixed income
(with some funds from part time jobs.)
I do most of the financial transactions.
I had a problem.
Solutions came to mind.

1. This month I worked more hours than usual
in my part time job;
I could ask for an early partial payment,
deposit the funds and go on my merry way.

2. I could fess up and ask the Farmer for funds
from our stash (he controls the stash)
and reimburse the stash when I get my regular payment.

Pride and covering verses humility and clearing.
We all have this decision occasionally.

To preserve my clearness before God
To preserve trust in my marriage
To preserve my self-respect

I surrendered to humility,
owned my weakness,
received pardon,
the funds needed and
with reinforced diligence continue to be the
distributor of the funds.

stop.

Proverbs_28:13
He that covereth his sins shall not prosper:
but whoso confesseth and forsaketh them shall have mercy.

Published in: on January 27, 2018 at 5:55 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thoughts-of-grace.com/2018/01/27/five-minute-friday-surrender/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Such beauty and grace in surrender! Thanks for sharing.

    http://www.tracimichele.com/2018/01/surrender-five-minute-friday/

    • Thanks for visiting

  2. Confession == Surrender (and vice versa). I never really thought of this perspective and that is both interesting and true.

    • learning slowly. thanks for visiting


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.