Three on Thursday – Favorite Scriptures

For over 50 years,
God’s Word has been a light upon my path,
a comfort in the dark night,
a towel in the raging storm,
a restorer of my soul,
and a rock on which to build.
I would not be the person I am today
without the influence of the Word of God.
So today I chose my three favorite scriptures.
Each one became part of me
just when I needed another proof of God’s Love.

I love this picture of stacked Bibles,
the New Testament on has ridden in my purse since 2002,
the red one is 20 years old,
given to me by my children; and goes with me to church.
The black Bible supporting all the rest,
belongs to the Farmer,
a birthday present, May, 1979.

1.
Psalm 91:14-16
Because he (she) hath set his (her) love upon me (God),
therefore will I (God) deliver him (her):
I (God) will set him (her) on high,
because he (she) hath known my name.
He (She) shall call upon me (God),
and I (God) will answer him (her):
I (God) will be with him (her) in trouble;
I (God) will deliver him (her), and honour him (her).
With long life will I (God) satisfy him (her),
and shew him (her) my salvation.

This is how I read these verses.
I own them, they are mine.

1968
I was 19 year old.
I celebrated my first wedding anniversary 3 months earlier.
I had 12 days before given birth to our first daughter,
3 pounds 6 ounces, 9 weeks premature.
I was very ill.
The Doctors gave me a week to live.

I had set my heart on the Lord.
I knew His name, He is my Father.
I needed God’s Deliverance.
I needed God’s Answer.
I needed God’s Presence.
I needed Life from God.

God gave me everything I needed.

2.
Psalm 18:30-32
As for God,
his way is perfect:
the word of the LORD is tried (or sure):
he is a buckler to all those that trust in him.
For who is God save the LORD?
or who is a rock save our God?
It is God that girdeth me with strength,
and maketh my way perfect.

1987-88?
I am home from the hospital.
I have endured my 6th miscarriage.
I am lying on the couch,
again in tears,
again asking ‘Why?’
again watching my dreams
‘fall through my fingers as grains of sand’.
again holding my Bible.

And once more God gave me everything I needed.
God’s comfort.
God’s strength.
God’s way and plan perfect in my life.

3.
Malachi 3:6
For I am the LORD,
I change not;
therefore ye sons of Jacob are not consumed.

1996
Our second daughter leaves her home.
Times were troubled.
I did not think she was ready.
I knew I was not ready.

Along with this verse, I was given a song.

Yesterday by Ernie Haase
[Chorus]
Yesterday things were different
Today they’re different again
Jesus will never change
Jesus is always the same

The sparrow will find a new dwelling
The eagle will change its nest
But I’m holding on the changeless One
And I’m leaning on His breast

The river will change, change its course
The mountains may crumble and fall
Time will leave its mark, they say
Upon us one and all
[Chorus]

My relationship with my daughter has been restored.
God’s Comfort.
God’s Presence.
God’s Reliability
God’s Strength.
God’s Way and Plan perfect in my life has not changed.

Open your Bible, today.
Oh, the treasures you will find.

Linking with Carole’s Three Things

Link to Yesterday     Goosebumps

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://thoughts-of-grace.com/2018/03/22/three-on-thursday-favorite-scriptures/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love that stack of Bibles … and the way you’ve made these favorite verses your own. Psalm 46:10 is the verse that lives with me day in, day out and always.

    • What perfect knowledge . . .to know God


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.